Making a change.

The Other Side of Life

Towards the end of March I began a contract role as a senior copywriter with OgilvyOne dnx. 6 weeks in and I’m knackered.OgilvyOne

I’m up early each morning (if you think 05.00 is early), I have a long drive every morning (if you agree that 25 miles is a long, rush-hour journey), I spend 10 full-on hours in the creative “barn” with the other copywriters and I have the same journey back each evening. Knackered I may be, but, to pinch a phrase from a well-known fast food restaurant, I’m lovin’ it.

It’s getting better all the time

I’m thrilled to be working at such a busy agency. I’m inspired by the creative buzz that goes on around me. I’m excited to be working on a wide range of technology clients. And, (most importantly), I’m becoming a better copywriter. Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t a bad copywriter when I arrived, but working in a team of experienced advertising and marketing professionals helps you quickly pick up plenty of tips on creating compelling content.

Variety is the spice of life

So, what have I been up to? I’ve worked on loads of different assignments and a mixture of long and short copy.

  • written social content for a multinational telecoms company
  • worked on a research paper for the airline industry
  • Story-lined a keynote presentation for major software vendor
  • Writing landing pages for a plastics manufacturer

So what? I hear you ask.cropped-astute21-copy15.png

I’m still working as a freelance copywriter and Astute still supports a number of agencies.  In fact I’m busier than ever and because of the new skills and techniques I’ve learned, I’m quicker. I’ve also developed a knack for getting copy almost perfect first time, every time.

Leave a Reply

